top of page

A Fair Train Journey

We’re Georgina and Bethan from Fair Train!

We are Fair Train’s Apprentices and we have made this blog so that we can share our experiences at Fair Train and also share the developments in our roles and showcase our accomplishments! Since this is our first post we will just give you a brief overview of Fair Train and introduce ourselves.

So first things first…

Fair Train – Who, What, Where When?

Fair Train are the Group Training Association for the Third Sector and offer organisations (employers and training providers) an accreditation to ensure that their Work Experience programmes are of a good quality and offer the individual a valuable experience.

The Work Experience Quality Standard is available in three levels – bronze, silver and gold. As well as working with employers and training providers, Fair Train also offer support to the young people involved in the schemes.

However there is a bonus! Along with Work Experience; Fair Train also offer support in Traineeships and Apprenticeships– this is essentially the royal flush in terms of work placed training and it is essential that these are offered to a specific quality or it will not benefit the young person or the organisations involved.

Fair Train are based in cosy offices in Coventry – right in the heart of the midlands. Using this to our advantage we have branched out nationally with engagement and skills coaches working across the country.

A small team working for a good cause that potentially changes the future prospects of young people in a time where the job market is sparse… Fair Train are making the change and Georgina and Bethan are at the forefront with them.

Now let’s introduce the Apprentices…

Bethan Mckechnie

Business Administration Apprentice

19 Years Old

In Bethan’s own words

Honestly, when you leave school there only seems to be a few options: sixth form, college or trying to go straight into work. I felt like I didn’t really have a choice I went into sixth form because I had the grades to, none of the course really appealed to me at the time. I hadn’t exactly settled on a career path yet, and when sixth form didn’t work out I found a catering Apprenticeship. I completed the Apprenticeship and was left high and dry – the company running the Apprenticeship wanted nothing more to do with me once I had received my qualifications, which left me in a terrible position. Through perseverance I found myself here at Fair Train on another Apprenticeship – only five weeks in and I have never felt like I belong anywhere else but here, I finally know what I want to do and I know I have all the support I need and that I won’t be left to fend for myself when it’s all over. The team and the role I am now in has done more for me and my confidence than ever before – I feel like a whole new person, and I would not change it for anything.

Georgina Douglas

Fundraising Apprentice

18 Years Old

In Georgina’s own words

My choices were simple when I left college – university or work. University didn’t appeal to me because I didn’t want to be back in full time education or have the debt hanging over my head – and going straight into work didn’t seem plausible because I was in the cycle of no work experience – no work.

This is when I decided on an Apprenticeship – my previous work placements had fundraising aspects so I chose a fundraising career as I enjoyed the work. Then I found this opportunity at Fair Train and my career prospects changed forever.

Finding my place in this small team has been the perfect way to kickstart my career. My course is tailored to me and around my work here at Fair Train – this means that I am able to work with Fair Train and on my Apprenticeship at the same time. I know this experience will help me prosper and make me a better candidate for job roles in the future if I ever decide to leave the organisation.

I feel that these sort of experiences and opportunities are what young people need in this current job climate – it has given me the confidence and kickstart that I need to plan my own future.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page